RSS Feed

On Adulthood

I’m going to write a book called, “How to Live Through Your 20s.” The main point of the book is going to be, “Don’t worry about it until you’re 30.”

The fact that generations of people have some how stumbled through those uncomfortable years between college and true adulthood, yet there still aren’t any guidelines to follow is astounding. At least to me.

I mean, you’re guided through your first 20 years or so by parents and family and other “real” adults, and then they just sort of drop you on your ass. You graduate high school, they guide you into college, then you graduate college and that’s it, suddenly their advice runs out. And there you are, lost and left to your own devices.

Which, between the ages of 21 and oh, the rest of your life, “devices” is code for alcohol.

And since alcohol costs money, you get a job, more than likely not related to your degree (since no one will hire you without experience) and you live paycheck to paycheck, planning your days around which bars have what specials on which day. Not to mention you’re constantly worried about paying bills and loans and having enough money to survive, but somehow in the end, it all works out.

Eventually you land yourself a “real” job and it’s like an oasis. All of your monetary worries melt away and you fall into a routine and you’ve settled, and now you have new things to worry you. Like when you’re gonna fall in love and get married.

I mean, that’s how it works right? Adulthood means working 9 to 5 and having a family and that’s it, your life is finalized, right?

But really, when did being 23 mean you’re an “adult?”

In a few weeks, I start my first “real” job. And while I’m honestly SUPER excited for it, I can’t help but feel a little bit like, I’m one step closer to settling. It’s exactly what I thought I was supposed to do, but without guidelines what is anyone really “supposed” to do?

I’m sure I’ll be able to figure it all out in the end. Like I said, generations of others have done it before me, maybe it’s best to just roll with it. Do whatever I want, whatever makes me happy. “Do me,” if you will. I AM only 23…

I think I’ll be selfish for awhile and just worry about it when I get to 30. Maybe then I’ll reassess. 30 is the new 20 after all.

Signed,

“This girl”

Leave a Reply

